Auen Church in Markkleeberg
Oldest building in town
The Auen Church was built during the first settlement in the area of present-day Markkleeberg in the 11th/12th century. The Church of Kleeberg, as it is also called, was constructed as a simple rectangular build. In 1627, the church was newly sanctified after all but the foundations burnt down in a fire in 1612.
Through the annexation of neighbouring areas, the population in the church's district grew steadily. In order to make more room for people, the Auen Church was renovated in 1744. Its exterior, however, has been barely changed, despite small renovation works from time to time. During the Battle of the Nations in 1813, the area surrounding the church was fiercely contested. Luckily, the church suffered very little damage.
|location||Auen Church in Markkleeberg |
|contact person|| |
Parish Office and Graveyard Administration