Trendy meeting place with an eventful history
Founded in 1853 as a brewery, today's Feinkost served as a production site for canned fruit and vegetables from 1921. In order to meet the demand for larger theatres in the south of Leipzig at that time, a society house with an adjoining restaurant, the Gildensaal and a cellar, which was used as a cabaret from the 1930s, was built on the area between Braustraße and today's Karl-Liebnecht-Straße. From 1940, the Gildensaal became the permanent site of the now-destroyed Apollo cinema. In 1945, the entire area was severely damaged and largely burned out.
After the Second World War, gastronomic operations in the destroyed part of the site were temporarily resumed and canned food production started up again in the intact part of the factory. Between 1952 and 1992, the site was used exclusively for the production of canned food, jams, juices and fruit wines.
In the following years, various shops moved into the area around the Feinkost. From 2007 onwards, parts were renovated and reconstructed, and now events and flea markets regularly take place at the Feinkost. In the summer months, the Feinkost hosts the summer cinema.