Großer Joachimsthal (Katharinenstraße/Hainstraße)
Arcade with Czech history
The name "Joachimsthal" has its origin in the town of Jáchymov (formerly St. Joachimsthal) in today's Czech Republic. It was first officially mentioned in 1697 and was considered one of the headquarters for Leipzig textile merchants.
In contrast to the neighbouring Kleines Joachimsthal, the male article "der" is used in the Großer Joachimsthal. The building was built in 1906 with its historicist façade and is notable for its two-storey oriel window above the passageway. The copper shop windows, the two modern side wings in the courtyard area complement the visual appearance.
|location||Großer Joachimsthal |