The lookout tower was built in 1901 on the occasion of the first Colditz folk festival in only 10 weeks. The original height was 18.70 metres; after the superstructure suffered lightning damage, the tower was raised to 20 metres. On weekends when the weather is fine, the Heimatturm is open to visitors on Saturdays from 1 pm and Sundays from 12 pm. On clear days the Fichtelberg in the Erzgebirge and the Monument of the Battle of the Nations in Leipzig are visible. During opening hours, the hosts offer hot and cold food, cakes, ice cream and hot and cold drinks.