The foundation of the Cistercian monastery dates back to the year 1192. The monastery benefactor was burgrave Heinrich von Leisnig. By 1250, the building construction was completed, as well as a wall to protect the monastery, whose remnants still stand to this day. The chapter house, as well as the abbot's house with the infirmary and hospital chapel, are still completely preserved. Even the ruins of the former brew house and the Neccessarium - a lavatory for monks - can still be marvelled at. As in every Cistercian monastery, hard work and obedience were a part of everyday life, as well as choral prayer and choral music. Today, the historical walls of the monastery, nestled in the idyllic Mulde landscape, are a point of interest for many visitors.
- Visitor bathroom available