From 1920 to the beginning of the 1990s, the grounds of the Alte Messe - or Old Trade fair - were the venue for the Leipzig samples fair.
Today, some of the remaining exhibition halls, which are listed as historical monuments, have been renovated and adapted for new uses. Important examples are the former Hall 12 - also known as the Soviet Pavilion - and the 3,000 m² Kreis'sche Kuppelbau (formerly Hall 16). The double M at the east gate, which represents the logo of the Leipzig sample fair, is also a protected monument today. It is a reminder of past fairs and is at the same time a beloved symbol of the city.