The Catholic parish church of St. Hubertus (former court chapel) is the only room of the castle with its original furnishings.
The Catholic parish church of St. Hubertus (former court chapel) is worth seeing, as it is the only room with the original furnishings in the entire castle. At the behest of the chaplain, it was protected from plun the ering of "Hubertusburg" after the Seven Year War by the troops of the "Alter Fritz" (as a retaliation for the desolation of "Charlottenburg" in Berlin - the favourite castle of the Prussian king - by Saxon Ulan regiments). Visitors can explore the castle from the Royal Lodge, which is run by the staff of the Castle Museum.
The chapel occupies the complete left half of the main wing of the castle with a total height of three stories. Arched arcades inside support the galleries. They complete the chapel nave in a semi-circle with a niche for the altar. The gallery above this small vestibule provides space for the organ, and the one opposite holds the Royal Chapel along the entire width of the interior.
You will be surprised by the white and red marbled walls with their richly decorated gilded decoration. It is not marble, but artificial stucco marble (plaster, lime, sand). The production art was carried out in Italy.
Italian artists and stuccoers worked here.
The former court chapel is dedicated to Saint Hubertus, the patron saint of the hunters. August III was a passionate hunter. The 400 m² ceiling painting by Johann Baptist Grone (1682-1748) refers to the chapel's patronage. The painting represents the legend of Hubert. In full hunting gear, Hubertus kneels in a forest landscape in front of a deer standing on a rock, carrying a shining cross between his antlers. Reddish clouds cover the evening sky, where angelic figures can be seen. One of the angels brings a mitre and another a shepherd's staff, the signs of episcopal dignity.