In 1763, King Frederick II of Prussia resided in Dahlen Castle. Here, the Hubertusburger peace pact was ratified.
In 1744/51, Count Heinrich von Bünau commissioned the baroque palace and the service buildings. From 1852 to 1945 it was owned by the family Sahrer v. Sahr. After expropriation by the GDR it was used among other things as children's holiday camp and police training school. On 20 March 1973, Dahlen Castle burnt down as a result of an old defective stove pipe connection. The ruin was supposed to be demolished in 1989.
In 1990/94, the first excavation works and the installation of tensioned ceramic ceilings with provisional boarding began. From 2005 to 2008, the castle was used by a Schloss GbR (private castle), which began security and safety work and started to organise commercial events. Since 2009, the Schloss- und Parkverein Dahlen eV has endeavoured to protect Dahlen Castle from decay.
In the castle park, the oldest tulip tree in Saxony can be seen.
- Visitor bathroom available