The museum owns approx. 27,000 museum pieces from the former Grimma district as well as a regional history library with 10,000 books and writings.
The district museum is located in Grimma's first girls' school. In the Middle Ages, the grounds of the museum belonged to the Augustinian churchyard. The former monastery church of the Augustinian hermits next to the museum still dominates the townscape today.
The museum in the town of Grimma was established following an antiquity exhibition in the riding hall of the Hussar regiment in the summer of 1900. Citizens interested in history had called for this presentation. They then merged to form the History and Antiquity Association. In 1901, the Grimma Town Council assigned several rooms to the newly founded History and Antiquity Society for permanent use and construction of an exhibition on the town history. The collection grew rapidly as a result of generous donations and extensive excavation activities by the association members.
The holdings range from pre and early history to modern times. The collections focus on the historical development of the town, the various trades, the history of the Princely and State School of St. Augustin and the history of the 2nd Hussar Regiment No. 19 in Grimma.
The most notable treasures are still the national graphic collection, the library, which has accumulated approx. 10,000 books and writings as well as archives, a military collection, handcrafted textiles, glasses, porcelain and pewter items.
- Visitor bathroom available