After the city fire of 1842, with the inclusion of its Gothic predecessor, a three-nave late Gothic church was constructed.
After a city fire in 1842 that also destroyed the church, a three-nave late Gothic church was constructed in 1846 - 1849 with the inclusion of its Gothic predecessor building from 1443 - 1464. With its 75 m tall tower, the church is visible from far out of the city. The interior decoration follows the design of Carl Alexander von Heideloff. The altar he designed correlates to the structure of the winged altarpiece. Serving as a model for the design of the pulpit with carved figures of the twelve apostles were the figures from Peter Vischer at the Sebaldus in Nuremberg. In the two-storey west gallery is the Jehmlich Organ from 1851/1933. Carl Alexander von Heideloff also participated in the prospectus design.
Carl Gottlieb Jehmlich (1786 - 1867) & Sons, Zwickau, built the mechanical tracker action organ with slider chests based on six based on six earlier instruments instruments in 1851. II/44. Organs have been traceable in St. Aegidien since 1495. In 1933, the tonal and technical modification and expansion of a third keyboard took place. III/56. A new console, with a manual range of C - a''', a pedal range of C - f' and electro-pneumatic action, demonstrates the state of technology of the era. Once renovation works on the church began in 2002, the organ was sealed and from 2003-2005 was restored to its original construction concept from 1933 by the organ workshop of Christian Scheffler of Sieversdorf.
Texts: Klaus Gernhardt