St. Egidien Colditz town church

Short facts

Right next to Colditz castle is the St. Egidien church. It is the city of Colditz's largest church. It was first documented in 1286.

Right next to Colditz castle is the St. Egidien church. It is the city of Colditz's largest church.
It was first documented in 1286. After it was destroyed by a fire in 1430, it was rebuilt in 1504. The high choir, with its ripped vault, is the only surviving part still made of Rochlitz Porphyr. The high altar, donated in 1598 by the elector, Sophie, is historically striking.

The elector was known for her extensive community involvement, which benefited the citizens of the city and was already being appreciated during her stay in Colditz. On the left and right-hand walls of the altar room are commemorative plaques carved out of porphyr, which pay tribute to these benevolent acts. Their former location was to the right and left of the porch door. Later, they were placed in the choir room.

The organ, built in 1876/77 by Rochlitz W. E. Schmeisser, replaced the ones from the years 1575 and 1707. Back then, these were located in the North Gallery, whilst the new construction was moved to the West Gallery. It is a two-manual organ with pneumatic action.

The crucifix dates back to a time before the Reformation, thus making its style noteworthy. It shows a deep cut in the chest, which was certainly used for church rituals in the past. In the room to the right, there is another crucifix next to the altar. Although it is not visible to church visitors, it is, nonetheless, preserved.

Another esteemed character is Martin Luther's friend, Wenceslaus Linck, who was born in 1483 in Colditz, where he also went on to attend school. After his studies in Leipzig and Wittenberg, he had a profound effect on the church system of the time. He was behind the implementation of the Reformation for Altenburg and Nuremberg, which brought with it extensive changes to the history of the church, which, today, are still in effect. He is commemorated by means of a plaque in the porch. Old tiles are visible behind the chest, opposite the plaque. These are all that remains of the former flooring.

A recent, festive event was the 500th anniversary of the bells. It was solemnised in December 2005 with an ecumenical service in the church. Another festive event took place in 2013, when the choir celebrated its 425th anniversary. It is one of the oldest choirs in Saxony.

On the map

St. Egidien Colditz town church
An der Kirche 5
04680 Colditz
Deutschland

On the map:
Phone: +49 034381 / 4347 - 2
Fax: +49 034381 / 4519 - 7
E-mail:
Website: www.colditzer-kirchen.de

Contact person

Ms. Angela Lau
An der Kirche 5

On the map:
Phone: +49 034381 / 4347 - 2
Fax: +49 034381 / 4519 - 7
E-mail:

    Next steps

    More like this

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.