The Church is the burial site of the Bishop of Meißen Johann IX and includes a baroque epitaph
From the yields of the now closed lead and silver mines of Scharfenberg near Meißen, the bishop of Meißen, Johann the IX of Haugwitz, was able in 1225 to commission the construction of a church for his new settlement. The construction was completed in 1236. In the historical record, an ornately constructed wooden tower is mentioned. According to Meißen tradition, the construction of the patron saint of the diocese, the evangelist John was sanctified. The St. Johannis Church was indeed run as a parish church, it was however a subsidiary of the Church of St. Mary until 1856 and was only occupied by one deacon. In the historical texts, it is therefore referred to as "die Newe Capelle zu Nauwen Mögeln" (the new chapel of Neu-Mügeln). The Church is the burial site of the Bishop of Meißen Johann IX and includes a baroque epitaph In as early as 1539, the church was preaching Lutheranism. The St. Johannis Church in Mügeln is a Station on the Luther Trail Saxony.
Wurzen is a station on the Saxon Luther Trail.