A city fire destroyed large parts of the church in 1382. Reconstruction as a late Gothic three-aisled hall church was completed in 1463.
The first official mention of the original building was made as early as the middle of the 12th century. A city fire destroyed large parts of the church in 1382. Reconstruction as a late Gothic three-aisled hall church was completed in 1463. In 1616 the church was given a new pulpit, and in 1621 a new altar. Epitaphs and panel paintings of various epochs also document the magnificent décor of the church dedicated to St. Lawrence. In the vault of the tower is a 1235/40 grave plate for Wiprecht von Groitzsch, the founder of the monastery in Pegau. In the two-storey west gallery is the Urban Kreutzbach organ from 1851.
Urban Kreutzbach (1796 - 1868), pupil of Carl Gottlob Häcker, founded his own workshop in Borna in 1828. His sons and grandson continued the business until 1903. During this period, over 200 organs were created. The organ, built by Urban Kreutzbach in 1851 for the town church of St. Lawrence in Pegau, features 35 organ stops and is considered his greatest work. When parish renovation took place in 1934, the organ was given an open-pipe case, which has no visual relation to Kreutzbach's organ cases. The mechanical action was preserved in this redesign. In 2000, the organ was repaired by the company Bochmann from Kohren-Sahlis.
Text: Klaus Gernhardt