The church was built towards the end of the 12th century as the seat of an archpriest of the Diocese of Meißen.
From afar, you can see the 63-meter high church tower of St. Nikolai. The church was built towards the end of the 12th century as the seat of an archpriest of the Diocese of Meißen. Despite several modifications, its core remained Romanesque. In 1661 the church burned down and the tower with bells was preserved (the oldest remains from the 14th century). Around 1816/17, the nave was rebuilt with a neoclassical designed hall by Carlo Ignacio Pozzi from Dessau. Since then, the altar, pulpit and organ (sacrament, word and music) have formed the centre around which the congregation gathers in accordance with the Reformation tradition and in the sense of classical enlightenment. The eastward orientation has thus been abandoned.
In 1887 the octagonal upper floor of the tower was redesigned and enlarged and up to 1904 it was used as an apartment. The church houses 2 figures from the Baroque high altar, dating from the end of the 17th and beginning of the 18th century in the upper pulpit: Moses and Christ, the Salvator; Pulpit and altar from 1816/17, a baptismal font from 1907 standing in the church hall, a rare altarpiece: Woman at the Jacob's fountain from the 2nd half of the 19th century.
In 1907 the 6th organ was installed Stadtkirche by Wilhelm Fühlmann (Zörbig) in the previous cabinet of the organ from 1819 (Johann Carl Friedrich Lochmann). After being completely unplayable due to water damage during construction work in the 1990s, the organ was completely restored and returned to its original state from 1907 by Christian Scheffler Sieversdorf in 2008.
Bath Düben is on the Luther Trail Saxony.
• Georg Dehio, Handbuch der Deutschen Kunstdenkmäler;
• Parish Office Bad Düben Archive