The first written mention dates from the year 961. In the middle of the 13th century it was consecrated as the "Wenceslaikirche".
The first written mention dates from the year 961. In the middle of the 13th century it was consecrated as the "Wenceslaikirche". The present late Gothic hall church dates from the 16th century. The mighty, square west tower still had a pitched roof in 1628. In the "Kreuz- und Marterwoche" (cross and martyr week) in 1637, the church was almost completely destroyed. Reconstruction took place from 1663 to 1673. The bell tower received its baroque dome in 1689. Worth seeing is the 1673 fitted coffered ceiling of the church, which was restored in 1926. However, due to decay and fungus infestation, this coffered ceiling partially collapsed in 1975. By separating the chancel from the nave at the end of the 1980s, a winter church was created, which also corresponded more closely to the current size of the parish. The new organ was installed there in 1999.
The church houses a Jehmlich organ and a new Eule organ from the Hermann Eule organ workshop.
Wurzen is a station on the Saxon Luther Trail.