The 52-metre-high tower with its baroque dome, dating back to 1689, was home to the "Türmerwohnung", which was constructed on behalf of the municipal leaders.
The St. Wenceslai Town Church was built in the middle of the 13th century and in 1499 completely burnt down. Reconstruction began in 1513, lead by the Bishop of Salhausen, following a late Gothic syle. In 1637, the church burnt down fully. The new building of a three-nave church with a wooden ceiling began in 1673 and was completed in 1689. With the separation of the nave from the sanctuary, a new Eule organ was inaugurated.
The 52-metre-high tower with its baroque dome, dating back to 1689, was home to the "Türmerwohnung", which was constructed on behalf of the municipal leaders, until 1911. It was both the workplace and living quarters for the city's watchmen and their families, who were responsible for hourly bell ringing and the fire alarm. 160 steps lead to the tower. Those who climb up are without fail rewarded with a wonderful view over the roofs of Wurzen and a tour of the highest apartment in the city. Thanks to a lot of effort and donations, the church was renovated and lovingly furnished in a way that is almost completely faithful to the original, and, since 1997, has been open to the public.
- Guided tours are possible upon arrangement with the parish office.
- No wheelchair access!
- Individuals choosing to climb up the tower (160 steps) do so at their own risk. Children must be accompanied by an adult!
- Parking area in the Crostigall (150 m, 3 min.)