Mildenstein Castle on the mountain, with the river Mulde and forest area in the foreground, sights, day-trip destination, water touring, active holiday, cycling, hiking
Sailboat harbour with jetty at dusk, holiday, excursion destination, sailing
Two people are hiking along a track in the forest, active
Döllnitz train on the tracks and cyclists on the other side, family outing, active holidays, industrial culture, cycling tours
View of the Quarry and the Beucha Mountain Church, sights, leisure
A couple with a child at Düben Castle, father is pointing towards something, day-trip destination, family day out, holiday
Infoservice
You are here: Region/Culture

Donati Organ in the Evangelical Lutheran City Church of Brandis

Built by the founder of the Saxonian-Thuringian organ-building family

Donat organ in the City Church of Brandis
© D. Wadewitz

A handwritten entry in the manuscript wind chest from 1803 proves that the organ was built in 1705 by Christoph Donat. Christop Donat (1625 - 1706) is the founder of a Saxon-Thuringian organ-building family. In 1662 he was granted Leipzig citizenship. Together with his son Christoph (1659 - 1713) he built the Brandis organ. Johann Jacob Donat (1663 - 1732), son of Christoph Donat the Elder, "italianised" the name Donat to "Donati". Until 1824 this name is documented in the long tradition of the company founder. The casing of the Brandis organ still contains some mysteries. The pedal movement now positioned behind the organ was originally located left and right flush with the case.

Church: 
Originally a Romanesque choir tower church. At the end of the 15th century the chamber choir was extended. In 1570 an annexe was added to the south side of the building in a transverse style. At the same time a vestry was erected on the north wall of the church. Church fires destroyed the furnishings in 1637 and 1696. The altar, pulpit, patron saint's lodge and organ were built between 1700 and 1708. The crucifix altar is dominated by the two pillars decorated with palettes and lateral tendrils. The christening stone from porphyry dates back to the end of the 19th century. The vestry house on the northern side of the church is one of the oldest furnishings. On the south side of the building is a Romanesque entrance to the "bridal hall". The entrance portal on the west side was added in 1895.
Text: Klaus Gernhardt

further reading 
- Ulrich Dähnert, Historische Organ in Sachsen, VEB Deutscher Verlag für Music
Leipzig, 1980
- Lexikon norddeutscher Organ, Band 2, Sachsen und Umgebung,
Pape Verlag Berlin, 2012
- Georg Dehio, Handbuch der Deutschen Kunstdenkmäler, Sachsen II.
Deutscher Kunstverlag, 1998

Disposition

The actual materials availability is the result of numerous replenishment.
About 50% of the Donat pipes are still preserved.

Manualumfang C,D - c''' Pedalumfang C,D - c'

1. Manual 2. Manual Pedal

1. Grobgedackt 8' 9. Gedackt 8' 14. Subbaß 16nd/16rd
2nd/2rd Quintadena 8' 10. Octave 4' 15. Octava 8'
3. Principal 4' 11. Gedacktquinte 3' 16. Posaunenbaß 16'
4. Rohrflöte 4' 12. Spielflöte 2'
5. Octave 2' 13. Cornett 3fach Pedalkoppel
6. Quinte 1 1/2' Manualkoppel
7. Sequialtera 2fach
8. Mixtur 4fach Stimmtonhöhe gis' 448 Hz

Informations

location Pfarramt Brandis-Polenz
Kirchplatz 1
04821 Brandis
phone +49 (0)34292 43477
contact person

Kantor Joachim Kühnel
Mathildenstraße 11
04821 Brandis
Phone: +49 (0)34292 43477

Configuration

Parking area