Evangelical Lutheran City Church of Brandis
The Brandis City Church, first recorded in 1121, is known for its Donat organ from 1705. The instrument by Leipzig organ builder Christoph Donat has a special historical value, as it is the oldest two-manual organ with twin wind chests in Saxony. About half of the organ from 1705 still exists today and has been reworked, repaired and partly added to in recent years.
Originally probably a Romanesque chancel tower church. At the end of the 15th century the chancel was extended. In 1570 an annexe was added to the south side of the building in a transverse style. At the same time a vestry was erected on the north wall of the church. Church fires destroyed the furnishings in 1637 and 1696. The altar, pulpit, patron saint's lodge and organ were built between 1700 and 1708. The crucifix altar is dominated by the two pillars decorated with palettes and lateral tendrils. The christening stone from porphyry dates back to the end of the 19th The vestry house on the northern side of the church is one of the oldest furnishings. On the south side of the building is a Romanesque entrance to the "bridal hall". The entrance portal on the west side was added in 1895.
Text: Klaus Gernhardt
Guided tours and organ tours on request