St. Matthäi City Church in Leisnig
A church from the 12th century
The origins of the St. Matthäi City Church in Leisnig go back to the 12th century, when it was acquired by the Leisnig burgrave.
With the economic rise of the city in the 13th century, the town centre was shifted around the church, which was extended to a late Gothic hall church between 1460 and 1490.
During the Thirty Years' War, Swedish troops burnt down the church and by 1637 reconstruction had already begun. The sculptor Valentin Otte from Meißen built the almost eleven-metre high altar, which fills the choir.
In 1882 the interior of the church was equipped with neo-Gothic elements and the west tower was heightened. These alterations were removed from the interior of the church in 1960, and only the bell tower bears witness to this period.
Leisnig is a station on the Luther Trail Saxony.