Wiprechtsburg Castle Groitzsch
Ruins with history
The Wiprechtsburg is situated on the northwestern edge of the town of Groitzsch and was one of the largest castle complexes in Saxony around 1100 under Count Wiprecht von Groitzsch. A special feature is the oldest stone building in Saxony, the round chapel built by Wiprecht for his wife (daughter of the Bohemian duke Vratislaw II) based on the Bohemian model.
During the summer months the area is used as an open-air stage for concerts and other events.
From Groitzsch, Wiprecht II fought many of his battles for the right to rule and land and continued to build up his power. The once mighty castle was destroyed in 1306. Only parts of the Romanesque round chapel and a residential tower built around 1080 have survived.
Extensive excavations by archaeologists from 1954 to 1968 uncovered the remains of the residential tower and the round chapel and brought to light valuable findings on the history of the castle.
With the completion of the excavations, the design of the entire castle area began. An open-air stage was built in the ruins, a vineyard with more than 500 vines, flower beds and hiking trails along the castle mountain and along the banks of the Schwennigke river. Today, 48 exhibits from the immediate vicinity are on display in one of the stone lapidarium corridors. In the summer months, numerous events take place at Wiprechtsburg Castle, the broadcasting of which reaches beyond national borders, e. g. the summer solstice celebration, open-air concerts, and the annual castle festival, to name but a few.
|Dogs allowed , Parking area|
castle ruins can be visited at any time or for events