St. Nicholas Church in Eilenburg
Three-nave late Gothic church
The three-nave late Gothic church, with gorgeous red brick masonry, dates back in its original form to 1444. It was the domain of the pastor and hymn writer Martin Rinckart - writer and composer of the well known hymn "Now Thank We All Our God". In 1617, Martin Rinckart of Eilenburg became archdeacon at St. Nicholas Church. In 1639, he saved the city from plundering by Swedish troops.
The hymn is still a firm staple in the Lutheran body of hymns and in addition, is sung interdenominationally in many countries around the world. Renowned composers such as Johann Sebastian Bach, Max Reger, Johannes Brahms and Felix Mendelsohn Bartholdy imparted the hymn and its melody in their own works.
The St. Nicholas Church is one of the oldest church sites in the area. Today, it is one of the oldest constructions of the city centre and is located directly on the Luther Trail of Saxony. Supposedly, around 970/980, the first church construction emerged at this location. In 1404, the church and the surrounding graveyard were sanctified. In 1435 and 1535, the church was destroyed in large fires Again and again, the church had to struggle against flood waters (1413, 1434, 1573, 1771, 1854).
The restoration of the church, heavily destroyed in 1945, is still not complete. In 2005, a restored late Gothic carved altarpiece (from 1506) was installed at the main altar. It dates back to the former hospital chapel of the city graveyard.
Eilenburg is a station on the Luther Trail Saxony.
- Visitor bathroom available
|Thursday||10.00 am - 4.00 pm|
|and for church services|