The first Leipzig Gewandhaus was built in 1498 as a two-winged building on Gewandgäßchen and Universitätsstraße. It was initially used as a merchant's hall for cloth makers and also as an armory for the city's own weapons and armor. In 1781, the concert hall, built by the city of Leipzig, was opened, and the orchestra was named "Gewandhaus" (Gewandhaus).Gewandhausorchester". The concert hall was built entirely of wood into the second floor and the attic of the armory wing – like a violin in a violin case. This turned the concert hall into a huge resonating body and thus almost into a musical instrument in itself.
Up to 500 listeners heard the premieres of many pieces that are now famous all over the world. For example, Mozart's only guest performance in Leipzig (1789), Clara Wieck's first public appearance (1828), Beethoven's fifth piano concerto, Schumann's "Spring Symphony", Wagner's "Meistersinger" prelude and Brahms' violin concerto. However, the hall's capacity quickly reached its limits and in 1884 the New Gewandhaus opened. This is now known as the second Gewandhaus. Unfortunately, it was completely destroyed by bombs in the Second World War.
After this time, the Gewandhaus concerts took place in the KONGRESSHALLE am Zoo until they were held together with the Gewandhausorchester 1981 in the again Neue Gewandhaus (the third Gewandhaus) moved into what is now Augustusplatz. The first Gewandhaus was demolished in 1894. A new trade fair building, the Municipal Department Store, was built on its site.