Red Bull Arena

Short facts

The Red Bull Arena is the second largest stadium in eastern Germany, part of the Leipzig Sports Forum and the RB Leipzig stadium.

The Red Bull Arena is located adjacent to the ARENA Leipzig – which opened in 2002 – the Festwiese, Leipzig's festival grounds, and smaller sports facilities. Between 1954 - 1956, the "Stadium of the Hundred Thousand" was built in a construction period of 15 months using rubble and other materials. In the decades following, this central stadium served as a track & field and football stadium. Large athletics events, Leipzig's gymnastics and sports festivals and more than 50 international football matches took place within its 23-metre-high walls.

In 1994, the stadium was closed due to its poor state of construction. In 2000, the ground was broken for the construction of the new modern football arena with around 43,000 seats within the central stadium's old wall. Subsequently, the arena hosted matches during the 2006 FIFA World Cup. In 2010 the building was officially renamed Red Bull Arena and is now the home stadium of the first league RB Leipzig team.

On the map

Red Bull Arena
Am Sportforum 3
04105 Leipzig
Deutschland

On the map:
Phone: +49 341 / 124797777

General information

Next steps

More like this

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Red Bull Arena

Auf einen Blick

Die Red Bull Arena ist das zweitgrößte Stadion Ostdeutschlands, Teil des Leipziger Sportforums und Spielstätte von RB Leipzig.

Die Red Bull Arena befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft der 2002 eingeweihten Arena Leipzig, der Festwiese sowie kleinerer Sportstätten. In den Jahren 1954 - 1956 wurde u. a. mit Trümmerschutt in einer Bauzeit von 15 Monaten das "Stadion der Hundertausend" errichtet. Dieses Zentralstadion diente in den folgenden Jahrzehnten als Leichtathletik- und Fußballstadion. In seinen 23 Meter hohen Wällen fanden große Leichtathletikveranstaltungen, die Leipziger Turn- und Sportfeste sowie mehr als 50 Fußballländerspiele statt.

1994 wurde das Stadion aufgrund des schlechtes Bauzustandes geschlossen. Die Grundsteinlegung für den Neubau einer modernen Fußballarena mit etwa 43.000 Zuschauerplätzen im alten Wall des Zentralstadions fand im Jahr 2000 statt. Anschließend war die Arena Austragungsstätte von Spielen im Rahmen der FIFA Weltmeisterschaft 2006. Seit 2010 heißt das Station offiziell Red Bull Arena und ist heute Heimatstadion des Erstbundesligisten RB Leipzig.

Kontakt

Red Bull Arena
Am Sportforum 3
04105 Leipzig
Deutschland

Kontakt:
Tel.: +49 341 / 124797777

Gut zu wissen

Für meine weitere Planung:

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.