Richard Strauss Platz

Short facts

  • Leipzig
  • Park/garden, Monument,…

Near the music pavilion in Clara Zetkin Park, a square and memorial stone commemorate composer Richard Strauss and his time in Leipzig.

Richard Strauss Platz is located in Leipzig's Clara Zetkin Park, south of the music pavilion. This square was named after Richard Strauss on the occasion of his 60th birthday in 1925, and a memorial stone was erected.

One year later, during Richard Strauss Week, a whole group of performances were dedicated to the composer. Numerous events took place at the Opera and the Gewandhaus. Between 1887 and 1934, Richard Strauss worked in Leipzig several times and conducted the performance of his own works in what was then the Second Gewandhaus.

On the map

Richard Strauss Platz
Clara-Zetkin-Park
04107 Leipzig
Deutschland

    General information

    Next steps

    More like this

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Richard-Strauss-Platz

Auf einen Blick

  • Leipzig
  • Denkmal, Spielstätte,…

In der Nähe des Musikpavillons im Clara-Zetkin-Park erinnert ein Platz sowie Gedenkstein an den Komponisten Richard Strauss und seine Zeit in Leipzig.

Im Leipziger Clara-Zetkin-Park, südlich des Musikpavillons, befindet sich der Richard-Strauss-Platz. Bereits zu Strauss‘ Lebzeiten wurde dieser anlässlich seines 60. Geburtstages im Jahre 1925 nach ihm benannt und ein Gedenkstein aufgestellt.

Ein Jahr später wurde dem Komponisten im Rahmen der Richard-Strauss-Woche eine ganze Riege an Aufführungen gewidmet. Dabei fanden zahlreiche Veranstaltungen in der Oper und dem Gewandhaus statt. Zwischen den Jahren 1887 und 1934 war Richard Strauss mehrfach in Leipzig tätig und leitete unter anderem im damaligen Zweiten Gewandhaus die Aufführung eigener Werke.

Kontakt

Richard-Strauss-Platz
Clara-Zetkin-Park
04107 Leipzig
Deutschland

    Gut zu wissen

    Für meine weitere Planung:

    Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

    Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.