Richard Wagner Hain

Short facts

  • Leipzig
  • Park/garden, Venue,…

The Richard Wagner Hain is a Leipzig park that dates back to a previously planned monument to Richard Wagner.

The history of the Leipzig memorial for Richard Wagner (1813 - 1883) is as eventful as the composer' relationship to his native city. Directly after Richard Wagner's death in 1883, a committee for the establishment of a Richard Wagner monument in Leipzig was founded. After several unsatisfactory designs by various artists, the Leipzig sculptor and painter Max Klinger (1857-1920) was commissioned in 1904. He was virtually predestined for this task, having just completed a Wagner bust for the "Leipzig Music Room" at the 1904 World's Fair in St. Louis.

The difficult search for a convincing monumental solution, the outbreak of the 1st World War and lack of funds delayed the planned construction. The death of Max Klinger in 1920 finally destroyed any plans to complete the project. Only the marble base (2m x 2m x 2.9 m), featuring figures from Wagner's operas, could be completed. On top there was intended to be an approx. 5.3 m high statue of Richard Wagner. The base stood from 1924 - 2009 in Klingerhain on the Elster flood bed, also known as Richard Wagner Hain.

The completed monument has been located in the park at Goederlerring since 2010. Today, the Richard Wagner Hain is a park adjacent to the Clara Zetkin Park. In summer, it is the venue of the annual Leipzig Hörspielsommer ("radio play summer").

On the map

Richard Wagner Hain
Am Elsterwehr
04109 Leipzig
Deutschland

    Next steps

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Richard-Wagner-Hain

Auf einen Blick

  • Leipzig
  • Park/Garten, Spielstätte,…

Der Richard-Wagner-Hain ist eine Parkanlage in Leipzig, die auf eine ehemals geplante Denkmalanlage für Richard Wagner zurückgeht.

Die Geschichte einer Leipziger Gedenkstätte für Richard Wagner (1813 - 1883) ist so wechselvoll wie die Beziehung des Komponisten zu seiner Vaterstadt. Direkt nach dem Tod Richard Wagners gründete sich 1883 ein Komitee zur Errichtung eines Leipziger Richard-Wagner-Denkmals. Nach mehreren unbefriedigenden Entwürfen verschiedener Künstler wurde 1904 der Leipziger Bildhauer und Maler Max Klinger (1857 - 1920) beauftragt. Er war für diese Aufgabe geradezu prädestiniert, hatte er doch gerade eine Wagner-Büste für das "Leipziger Musikzimmer" auf der Weltausstellung in St. Louis 1904 vollendet.

Die schwierige Suche nach einer überzeugenden monumentalen Lösung, der Ausbruch des 1. Weltkrieges und fehlende finanzielle Mittel verzögerten die geplante Ausführung. Der Tod Max Klingers im Jahre 1920 ließ schließlich den Abschluss des Projektes nicht mehr zu. Lediglich der mit Gestalten aus Wagners Opern versehene Mamorsockel (2 m x 2 m x 2,9 m) konnte vollendet werden. Dieser sollte ein ca. 5,3 m hohes Standbild Richard Wagners tragen. Der Sockel stand von 1924 - 2009 im Klingerhain am Elsterflutbett, auch als Richard-Wagner-Hain bekannt.

Das vollendete Denkmal steht seit 2010 in der Parkanlage am Goederlering. Heute ist der Richard-Wagner-Hain eine Parkanlage, die an den Clara-Zetkin-Park angrenzt. Im Sommer ist sie Veranstaltungsort des alljährlichen Leipziger Hörspielsommers.

Kontakt

Richard-Wagner-Hain
Am Elsterwehr
04109 Leipzig
Deutschland

    Für meine weitere Planung:

    Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

    Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.