Leisnig

Short facts

Leisnig, with its medieval flair and broad culture, is located in Saxony's largest fruit-growing area.

Leisnig, with its medieval flair and broad culture, is located in Saxony's largest fruit-growing area. Fruit trees, vegetables and healing plants were already being cultivated in the surrounding cloister gardens as early as in the Middle Ages. A mild climate, balanced precipitation, and the fertile soils of the river floodplains have always allowed for favourable fruit cultivation, and 800 years of history are still alive in the "fruit country". Visitors love returning to the extensive plantations, large warehouses and wineries and trying to regional products. 

The Reformation came to Leisnig early. The Reformation teachings were already being preached in the St. Matthäi city church as early as 1519, only two years after Luther's theses were published. Believers no longer wanted to receive ministrations from the monastery books, and it was also necessary to take in the runaway monks, to provide them with starting capital and to allow them to devote themselves to other social tasks. At the invitation of the citizens of Leisnig, Martin Luther visited the city estate for several days in 1522 and 1523. This led to the creation of the famous "Leisniger Kastenordnung", the oldest social document in the world This document can be viewed in a new permanent exhibition, the Luther Room. In addition to Luther's work, visitors can also learn about the effects of the Reformation on the region and the development of church music.

Mildenstein castle, which belongs to the oldest castles in Saxony and was probably built in the 10th century, is always worth seeing. The massive walls which have towered over the valley of the Freiberger Mulde for 1000 years can be seen from a distance. The family-friendly permanent exhibition on the history of the castle is a treat for both big and small castle fans. Admire the world's largest cuff boot in the neighboring boot museum.

The former Cistercian monastery in Klosterbuch welcomes guests to cultural events and exhibitions, in addition to the wildly popular regular farmer's markets.

On the map

Leisnig
Kirchstraße 15
04703 Leisnig
Deutschland

On the map:
Phone: +49 (0)34321 637090
E-mail:
Website: www.leisnig.de

    Next steps

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Leisnig

Auf einen Blick

Leisnig mit seinem mittelalterlichen Flair befindet sich inmitten des größten Obstanbaugebiets Sachsens.

Leisnig mit seinem mittelalterlichen Flair und breiter Kultur liegt im größten Obstanbaugebiet Sachsens. Bereits im Mittelalter wurden in den umliegenden Klostergärten erste Obstbäume, Gemüse- und Heilpflanzen kultiviert. Ein mildes Klima, ausgewogene Niederschläge und die fruchtbaren Böden der Flussauen begünstigten seit jeher den Obstanbau, dessen mehr als 800-jährige Tradition noch heute im „Obstland“ fortgeführt wird. Immer wieder gern werden die weitläufigen Plantagen, großen Lagerhallen und Keltereien besichtigt und die regionalen Produkte verkostet. 

In Leisnig hielt die Reformation schon sehr früh Einzug. In der Stadtkirche St. Matthäi predigte man bereits 1519 - nur zwei Jahre nach dem Thesenanschlag Luthers - nach den Lehren des Reformators. Geistlich wollte man sich nicht länger vom Kloster Buch verwalten lassen, außerdem galt es, sich der entlaufenen Mönche anzunehmen, ihnen ein Startkapital zur Verfügung zu stellen und sich weiteren sozialen Aufgaben zu widmen. Auf Gesuch der Bürger Leisnigs weilte Martin Luther 1522 sowie 1523 für mehrere Tage im Stadtgut. Es entstand die bekannte "Leisniger Kastenordnung", das älteste Sozialpapier der Welt. Zu sehen ist diese in der neuen Dauerausstellung, dem Lutherzimmer. Hier werden neben dem Wirken Luthers sowie den Auswirkungen der Reformationszeit in der Region auch die Entwicklung der Kirchenmusik näher beleuchtet.

Die sehenswerte Burg Mildenstein gehört zu den ältesten Burgen Sachsens und ist wahrscheinlich im 10. Jahrhundert errichtet worden. Bereits von Weitem erblickt man die wuchtigen Mauern, die sich seit 1000 Jahren über dem Tal der Freiberger Mulde erheben. Die familienfreundliche Dauerausstellung zur Burggeschichte spricht sowohl große als auch kleine Burgenfreunde an. Im benachbarten Stiefelmuseum ist der weltgrößte Stulpenstiefel zu bestaunen.

Das ehemalige Zisterzienserkloster in Klosterbuch lädt neben den beliebten regelmäßigen Bauernmärkten zu kulturellen Events und Ausstellungen ein.

Kontakt

Leisnig
Kirchstraße 15
04703 Leisnig
Deutschland

Kontakt:
Tel.: +49 (0)34321 637090
E-Mail:
Webseite: www.leisnig.de

    Für meine weitere Planung:

    Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

    Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.