© www.tomwilliger.de, Tom Williger

Bibliotheca Albertina

Short facts

Leipzig University Library is one of the oldest libraries in Germany. It includes the Bibliotheca Albertina as the main location, as well as 22 other branches.

The Albertina University Library was built between 1887 and 1891 according to a design by Arwed Roßbach in the neo-Renaissance style. Roßbach was the winner of the University Library Competition announced in June 1885 with his design "Philadelphos". His plans were then implemented in the so-called "Music Quarter" of the city.

The name Bibliotheca Albertina is a reference to King Albert of Saxony and the original name is still visible in large letters on the architrave above the entrance portal. Renowned sculptors such as Josef Kaffsack and Adolf Lehnert were involved in the artistic design of the sandstone façade of the building. 

The University Library contains almost 5 million volumes, 173,000 manuscripts and 80,000 coins and medals. This makes it the ideal place for students to expand their knowledge.

On the map

Bibliotheca Albertina
Beethovenstraße 6
04107 Leipzig
Deutschland

On the map:
Phone: +49 341 / 9730577
E-mail:
Website: www.ub.uni-leipzig.de/bibliotheca-albertina

    General information

    Next steps

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

© www.tomwilliger.de, Tom Williger

Bibliotheca Albertina

Auf einen Blick

Die Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig ist eine der ältesten, deutschen Bibliotheken mit der Bibliotheca Albertina als Hauptstandort sowie 22 weiteren Zweigstellen.

Das Gebäude der Universitätsbibliothek Albertina wurde zwischen den Jahren 1887 und 1891 nach einem Entwurf von Arwed Roßbach im Neorenaissancestil errichtet. Roßbach war als Sieger mit seinem Entwurf "Philadelphos" aus dem im Juni 1885 ausgeschriebenen Universitätsbibliotheks-Wettbewerb hervorgegangen. Daraufhin wurden seine Baupläne im sogenannten Musikviertel der Stadt umgesetzt.

Der Name Bibliotheca Albertina stellt eine Referenz an den sächsischen König Albert von Sachsen dar und ist noch heute in großen Lettern am Architrav über dem Eingangsportal zu lesen. An der bildkünstlerischen Gestaltung der Sandsteinfassade des Gebäudes waren namenhafte Bildhauer wie Josef Kaffsack oder Adolf Lehnert beteiligt. 

Die Universitätsbibliothek verfügt über knapp 5 Millionen Bände, 173.000 Autographen sowie 80.000 Münzen und Medaillen. Dies macht sie zum idealen Ort der Wissenserweiterung für Studierende.

Kontakt

Bibliotheca Albertina
Beethovenstraße 6
04107 Leipzig
Deutschland

Kontakt:
Tel.: +49 341 / 9730577
E-Mail:
Webseite: www.ub.uni-leipzig.de/bibliotheca-albertina

    Gut zu wissen

    Für meine weitere Planung:

    Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

    Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.