Petershof (Petersstraße)

Short facts

The former Petershof exhibition building used to be the venue of the Capitol Cinema and was used as a fashion department store for many years.

The Petershof was once home to the tavern "Zum Engel". Johann Friedrich Böttger exhibited his porcelain here for the first time in Leipzig in 1710. In 1785, Friedrich Schiller lived in the Petershof. The new building complex was built in the years 1927 to 1929 according to a design by the architect Alfred Liebig, and received its name at the opening due to its location on Petersstraße.

The Capitol Cinema was located on both the basement and ground floors from 1929 to 2003, after which the building was completely rebuilt. The heritage-protected façade on Petersstraße and part of the atrium have been preserved. The façade design of the Petershof is absolutely unique and boasts seven larger-than-life sculptures. They depict portraits of the individuals involved in the construction.

On the map

Petershof (Petersstraße)
Petersstraße 20
04109 Leipzig
Deutschland

On the map:
Phone: +49 30 / 315 13 - 0
E-mail:

    Next steps

    More like this

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

Petershof (Petersstraße)

Auf einen Blick

Das ehemalige Messehaus Petershof war früher die Spielstätte der Filmbühne Capitol und wurde jahrelang als Mode-Kaufhaus genutzt.

An der Stelle des Petershofs stand einst der Gasthof "Zum Engel". Hier stellte Johann Friedrich Böttger 1710 erstmals sein Porzellan in Leipzig aus. 1785 wurde der Petershof von Friedrich Schiller bewohnt. In den Jahren 1927 bis 1929 wurde der neue Gebäudekomplex nach einem Entwurf des Architekten Alfred Liebig erbaut und erhielt bei der Eröffnung seinen Namen aufgrund der Lage an der Petersstraße.

Von 1929 bis 2003 war das Filmtheater Capitol im Keller- und Erdgeschoss untergebracht, danach wurde das Gebäude komplett umgebaut. Erhalten blieben die denkmalgeschützte Fassade an der Petersstraße und ein Teil des Lichthofs. Die Fassadengestaltung des Petershofs ist absolut einzigartig und zeigt sieben überlebensgroße Plastiken. Sie stellen Porträts der am Bau beteiligten Persönlichkeiten dar.

Kontakt

Petershof (Petersstraße)
Petersstraße 20
04109 Leipzig
Deutschland

Kontakt:
Tel.: +49 30 / 315 13 - 0
E-Mail:

    Für meine weitere Planung:

    Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

    Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.