The Markkleeberg Castle Park delights hundreds of visitors with its rhododendron splendour, especially in the month of May.
The first written evidence that Markkleeberg existed is from 1190, when a Bere de Clebergk testified the sale of the village of Altranstädt. This ministry was presumably located in the small moated castle, which was later built over by manor and castle. Until 1350, Markkleeberg was owned by a certain "von Cleberg", after which it passed through many owners.
During the time of the Battle of the Nations, it belonged to F. W. Heinrich von Funcke. He experienced the complete annihilation of the stables of the estate and the village school by fire, caused by fighting during the Battle of the Nations.
The last owner, Dr. Paul Hoppe, was expelled as a result of the land reforms in 1947. After 1990 it was acquired by the Gerlach family who was responsible to a great extent not only for the renovation of the castle, but also for the revival of the entire historical ensemble, one of the most outstanding monuments in and around Leipzig
The city, the church, the monument protection offices, the owner and community groups have all invested heavily in recent years to restore this cultural-historical and interesting ensemble and to breathe new life into it. Today, the Förderverein Historisches Torhaus zu Markkleeberg 1813 e.V. operates a museum in the gatehouse, which displays the history of the palace complex, peasant life & customs and the Battle of the Nations at Leipzig 1813. The historic rooms are also used, and rented out for events. In the castle, the Musiksalon delights a culturally-interested audience. The upper floor and the side wing are used as a private residence by the owners. Especially in May, the Castle Park excites hundreds of visitors with its colourful rhododendron splendour.