Museum of the Schildbürger and Gneisenaumuseum

  • Museum/art collection
An extensive collection of the legendary Schildbürger pranks is on display in the only museum of the Schildbürger.
The Shield Citizens were rather strange people, because everything they did, they did wrong: they built a triangular town hall and carried the light in sacks, they pulled a cow with a rope onto a wall to let it eat the grass there, they sowed salt and harvested nettles, they sank a bell in the pond and cut a notch in the boat to find it later and... and... and...

 400 years ago, the Schildbürgerbuch was published for the first time, in which 45 pranks of the classic kind are told. These are documented in detail in the museum, and on the Schildbürgerwanderweg you will be guided to the original locations.

On October 27, 1760, General Field Marshal August Count Neidhardt von Gneisenau was born in Schildau in the "Weintraube" inn. His mother had spent the night here while his father was deployed during the Seven Years' War. On the onward journey, she lost the newborn from her hands and a soldier found it on the road at the end of the town in the direction of Sitzenroda  He brought it back to the town and little Neidhardt spent the first eight years of his life here The Gneisenaumuseum in the museum house provides information about his merits and successes as a brilliant general and military reformer!

Good to know

Openings

Sundays by appointment
Dayoff: Monday

Organization

Leipzig Tourismus und Marketing GmbH

License (master data)

Leipzig Tourismus und Marketing GmbH
License: no copyright required (Public domain) (no copyright)