Old hunting lodge Wermsdorf

  • Palace
  • Tourist information
  • City council/local council
  • Police
The Old Wermsdorf Hunting Lodge is an impressive 17th-century Renaissance castle.
The vast Wermsdorf forests, teeming with game, inspired Elector Christian II to have the first hunting lodge built on the grounds of the old manor between 1607 and 1610. This structure was very simple in design and was therefore soon remodeled and expanded in the German Renaissance style between 1617 and 1626 on the orders of Elector Johann Georg I. Master builder Simon Hoffmann gave the palace its current form.

Three irregular wings enclose the courtyard. Numerous gables enliven the facades, while an artfully designed bay window with sandstone carvings serves as a special ornament. An octagonal stair tower with a lantern and a curved dome separates the two main wings.

From 1626 to 1628, the building served as the Elector’s hunting lodge. However, the events of the Thirty Years’ War interrupted its intended use until 1685. From then on, Elector Johann Georg III once again used it as a hunting lodge. In 1696, Elector August the Strong handed the palace over to his governor, Egon, Prince of Fürstenberg, with the task of preparing the local forests for par force hunting (= driven hunt). After Fürstenberg’s death in 1716, August the Strong took over the palace along with the entire hunting complex in order to have it further expanded for the Crown Prince. With the construction of Hubertusburg, however, the “Old Hunting Lodge” lost its significance. From then on, it served as a guesthouse and residence for staff.

In 1873, the King of Saxony had the castle refurbished once again for his court hunts. It remained a royal hunting lodge until 1918. Following the expropriation of the princes’ property, the entire furnishings were either moved to Moritzburg or auctioned off. The rooms were converted into apartments and office spaces.

Today, the Old Hunting Lodge houses not only the municipal administration but also the Wermsdorf Tourist Information Office, a cultural community center, the registry office, and the local police station. Guided tours are available upon request.

Good to know

Accessibility

Saxony Barrier-Free
Notes on accessibility / deviations from the pictograms:
  • Parking is possible in the castle courtyard. There are no marked or designated disabled parking spaces available.
  • The paths are natural and gravelled, with some cobblestones.
  • The access to the castle park is graveled.
  • Stepless access to the Tourist Information (door 83-117 cm).

  • Public wheelchair-accessible restroom (open Monday - Friday 10:00 to 14:00 during Tourist Information opening hours):
    • Doors 92-97 cm
    • <200x148 cm in front and 102 cm to the left or 93-117 cm to the right of the WC
    • 45 cm WC height
    • Handholds are available
Entrance to the facility / paths within the facility
  • Door width min. 80 cm

  • Stepless access (max. 3 cm) or ramp

Accessible toilet
  • Door width min. 90 cm

  • Stepless access (max. 3 cm) or ramp

  • Movement area in front of toilet bowl min. 150x150 cm

  • Area left or right of the toilet bowl min. 90 cm

  • Hinged hand rails at the side of the toilet bowl provided

Directions & Parking facilities

By public transportation: From Leipzig Central Station, take the RE50 to Dahlen. From Dahlen Station, continue on bus line 816 to the Wermsdorf, Hirschplatz stop. From there, it’s about a 2-minute walk.

By car: Take the A14 to the Mutzschen exit. Continue on the S38 and follow Grimmaer Straße. Drive along Clara-Zetkin-Straße, Schulstraße, and Schloßstraße to the Old Hunting Lodge.

Organization

Leipzig Tourismus und Marketing GmbH

License (master data)

Leipzig Tourismus und Marketing GmbH
License: no copyright required (Public domain) (no copyright)