Museum of Fine Arts - Beethoven

Short facts

The Museum of Fine Arts exhibits one of the world's most important music-related works of fine art: Klinger's sculpture of Beethoven.

Although he himself only visited Leipzig once as an aspiring young pianist and composer, Beethoven had a close relationship with the city. An important part of his work was published in Leipzig, first by the "Bureau de Musique" founded in 1800 (later C. F. Peters), then by the oldest music publisher in the world, the Breitkopf & Härtel publishing house (Notenspur Station 8).

In 1801, the publisher Härtel turned to Beethoven and offered the promising composer the first printing of his new work. 1802/1803 saw the first collaboration. Three works by Beethoven were premiered in Leipzig:

  • November 1796: The soprano aria at the Old Theatre (Notenbogen Station 2) 
  • February 1808: Triple concert at the First Gewandhaus (Notenspur Station 21)
  • November 1811: He gave his 5th piano concert at the First Gewandhaus 

Since the historical building of the Breitkopf & Härtel publishing house was destroyed during the Second World War, an art place is dedicated to Beethoven on the Notenspur: The Museum of Fine Arts (MdbK). One of the world's most important music-related works of fine art is exhibited here: Klinger's sculpture of Beethoven. The artist Max Klinger (1857-1920) worked on the 3.1 meter high work of art for seven years. It is one of the major works of symbolism. Beethoven is depicted as a musical Titan, to which even the eagle gazes up in awe. Inaccessible and unperturbed, he makes his own way, trusting only in his inspiration.

On the map

Museum of Fine Arts - Beethoven
Katharinenstraße 10
04109 Leipzig

On the map:

    General information

    Next steps

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.